Road FC 46 videos: Barnaoui and Zavurov advance to $1 million lightweight tournament finals

Saturday night in South Korea, Road FC 46 hosted the semifinal round of their $1 million lightweight tournament. They took very different approaches, but in the end, Shamil Zavurov and Mansour Barnaoui advanced to the finals by picking up quiality wins.

Zavurov, a longtime training partner of Khabib Nurmagomedov, beat UFC vet Ronys Torres and snapped his 11-fight winning streak. The Dagestani wrestler showcased his striking chops against a fellow talented grappler, dropping Torres and busting him up on the feet for majority of the three-round match up. Zavurov’s victory marked his sixth straight, and improved his record to 35-5-1.

On the other side of the bracket, a patient Mansour Barnaoui methodically won clinch exchanges and eventually capitalized on the ground. Shimoishi Kota was a game opponent, but one tiny mistake led to a pretty nifty back take from the Tristar gym product and he was put to sleep with a rear naked choke. Barnaoui, a former BAMMA champion, extended his win streak to five, and advanced to the finals.

Barnaoui and Zavurov, who are both former M-1 champions, will face off next in the lightweight finals. The winner of the tournament will then have the opportunity to take on Road FC lightweight champion A Sol Kwon on a later date.

Also on the card, Lee Jeong-Yeong beat Kim Se-Yeong in a featherweight title eliminator.

Full results can be seen below, and the entire event can be viewed here.

Road FC 46 Results

Main Card

Lee Jeong-Yeong def Kim Se-Yeong by TKO, R1 3:30

Mansour Barnaoui def Shimoishi Kota by Submission, RNC, R3 1:47 [LW Tourney Semis]

Shamil Zavurov def Ronys Torres by Unanimous Decision [LW Tourney Semis]

Hong Young-Ki def Eom Tae-Woong by Submission, R2 4:54

Park Hyung-Geun vs Moon Jin-Hyuk ruled a Draw 1:1:D

Heo Jae-Hyeok def Kim Jae-Hun by TKO, R1 4:20

Alatengheili def Jang Ik-Hwan by TKO, R1 3:06


Hwang In-Su def Kim Nae-Chul by TKO, R1 0:50

Ma Anding def Hamada Junpei by Unanimous Decision

Park Hae-Jin def Cho Byeong-Oak By Unanimous Decision

Min Kyeong-Chul def Huang Zhenyue by Unanimous Decision

La In-Jae def Lim Dong-Hwan by Unanimous Decision

Source link